World / Asia-Pacific

S. Korean president names four ministers in cabinet reshuffle

(Xinhua) Updated: 2015-02-17 13:48

SEOUL - South Korean President Park Geun-hye named four new ministers, including the unification minister in charge of inter-Korean affairs, on Tuesday after former ruling Saenuri Party floor leader Lee Wan-koo took office as the new prime minister.

Presidential spokesman Min Kyung-wook told reporters that Hong Yong-pyo, presidential secretary for unification, was named as the unification minister.

Representative Yoo Il-ho of the ruling party was nominated as the transport minister, and another ruling party lawmaker Yoo Ki- joon was named as the maritime affairs and fisheries minister.

Yim Jong-yong, chief executive of NongHyup Financial Group, was chosen as the Financial Services Commission (FSC) chief.

Trudeau visits Sina Weibo
May gets little gasp as EU extends deadline for sufficient progress in Brexit talks
Ethiopian FM urges strengthened Ethiopia-China ties
Yemen's ex-president Saleh, relatives killed by Houthis
Most Popular
Hot Topics