China / Politics

China calls for SCO anti-terror efforts

(Xinhua) Updated: 2014-06-18 19:30

BEIJING - China on Wednesday hailed the fruitful achievements of anti-terrorism cooperation between member countries of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) and called for still closer exchanges.

Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Hua Chunying made the remarks at a regular press briefing when was asked to comment on the role of the Regional Anti-Terrorism Structure of the SCO.

Since its establishment 10 years ago, the Anti-Terrorism Structure has become an important platform for law enforcement and security cooperation among members countries and its international influence has been ever rising, Hua said.

Over the past decade, SCO members have signed over 300 documents regarding law enforcement and security and held over 10 anti-terrorist exercises. It has also established mechanisms in fighting the "three forces" of separatism, terrorism and extremism, drug control, border defence, security at major international events and cyber security, as well as targeting terrorist financing, she said.

She said China hoped SCO members, observers and dialogue partners could work together to advance law enforcement cooperation and safeguard regional security and stability on the basis of with mutual respect, mutual benefit and equality.

She emphasized that China opposes terrorism in any form and is against double standards in fighting terrorism, adding that the country is willing to enhance exchanges and cooperation with all countries in anti-terrorism efforts.

A Chinese delegation attended a celebration of the 10th anniversary of the establishment of the Regional Anti-Terrorism Structure on Tuesday in Tashkent, capital of Uzbekistan.

The SCO, an inter-governmental organization, was founded in Shanghai on June 15, 2001. Grouping China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan, it covers an area of 30.2 million square km, with a combined population of 1.53 billion. Afghanistan, India, Iran, Mongolia and Pakistan are observer states. Belarus, Turkey and Sri Lanka are dialogue partners.

The SCO has two permanent organs - the Secretariat in Beijing and the Regional Anti-Terrorism Structure in Tashkent.

Hot Topics