World / Asia-Pacific

Myanmar gov't forms support committee to manage power transfer

(Xinhua) Updated: 2015-12-11 11:16

YANGON - Myanmar government has formed a support committee to manage power transfer following a significant meeting between President U Thein Sein and Chairperson of the election-winning National League for Democracy (NLD) Aung San Suu Kyi early this month, an official report said Friday.

The Support Committee was established with Minister U Hla Tun as Chairman and the committee members comprise Information Minister U Ye Htut, Director-General of the President's Office U Hla Tun, Deputy Director-General of the Ministry of Construction U Maung Maung Ohn and Director of the President's Office U Zaw Htay.

The NLD side has also named its Central Executive Committee member U Win Htein and Dr. Myo Aung and former Rector of Yangon University Dr. Aung Thu to help coordinate the transition in conjunction with the government's Support Committee, the report said.

U Thein Sein and Suu Kyi met on Dec 2 at the Presidential Palace in Nay Pyi Taw to discuss plans for a smooth transfer of state power and exchange views on setting an example of systematic handover of power.

Suu Kyi also met with Defense Chief Senior-General Min Aung Hlaing on the same day and won his support for a peaceful power transfer. The pair agreed to cooperate and coordinate for the stability and tranquility, law enforcement, national consolidation and national development.

Earlier, Suu Kyi also met with U Shwe Mann, speaker of the Union Parliament and House of Representatives (Lower House). They also agreed to form parliament of the next term through coordination and cooperation.

Moreover, Suu Kyi met with former military government leader Senior-General Than Shwe in Nay Pyi Taw on Dec 5 for the first occasion after the election with the pair touching on the future of Myanmar.

Expressing his recognition over Suu Kyi's success in the election, Than Shwe voiced support of rooting the democratic system.

The current parliament is to expire on Jan 31, 2016 and a new government is to be formed in February, with the presidential run taking place in accordance with the constitution.

In accordance with the result of the Nov 8 general election, NLD dominates the absolute majority of the parliamentary seats, which is strong enough for it to form the government independently under the constitution and has right to nominate the president and two vice presidents.

Suu Kyi herself also won as a representative re-elected to the Lower House of the next parliament.

In the general election, the NLD won 880 parliamentary seats or 77.3 percent out of a total of 1,139 at three levels of parliament.

Most Popular
Hot Topics