Make me your Homepage
left corner left corner
China Daily Website

History of success

Updated: 2013-08-29 09:34
(China Daily)
History of success

Chinese filmmakers' connection to the Venice International Film Festival dates back to 1989, when Taiwan director Hou Hsiao-hsien won the Golden Lion for A City of Sadness, a sweeping epic about a dark chapter in Taiwan's modern history.

In 1992, Zhang Yimou won the Golden Lion for The Story of Qiuju and his leading actress Gong Li won Best Actress. Zhang won the top honor again in 1999 for Not One Less.

He also led the jury in 2007, when Ang Lee's Lust, Caution won the Golden Lion. Lee won his first Golden Lion for Brokeback Mountain in 2005.

In 2010, John Woo was honored a Golden Lion for lifetime achievement.

The following year Hong Kong actress Deanie Ip won Best Actress for her effortless performance in A Simple Life.

Jia Zhangke is also a beloved director in Venice. Six of his films premiered in the city, among which Still Life about migrants of the Three Gorges Dam won the Golden Lion. He worked as jury leader of the New Horizons section that aims to celebrate new trends in world cinema, in 2011. That same year he married actress Zhao Tao in the city.

History of success