Make me your Homepage
left corner left corner
China Daily Website

'Coronation Street' wins big at NTAs

Updated: 2013-01-24 11:11
'Coronation Street' wins big at NTAs

Alan Halsall dedicated his prize at the National Television Awards to his late co-star Bill Tarmey after wearing his watch for good luck.

'Coronation Street' wins big at NTAs

Minaj, Carey fail to boost 'American Idol'

'Coronation Street' wins big at NTAs

Britney Spears calls off engagement, quits 'X Factor'

'Coronation Street' wins big at NTAs

'Amour' sweeps London Critics' Circle Awards

The 'Coronation Street' star - who plays Tyrone Dobbs - won the award for Serial Drama Performance and used the moment to remember Bill, who played Jack Duckworth for three decades on the soap before his death in Tenerife on 2 November at the age of 71.

Related: Obama inauguration TV viewership down by 17.2m from 2009

Speaking after picking up his award, Alan exclusively told BANG Showbiz: "I'm sure Bill is looking down on me now. He'll be having a pint of Guinness for me. His wife asked me to wear his watch today so here it is.

"This award is for him. He literally guided me from the start of 'Coronation Street'. He was like a second dad onscreen if you like. He was a huge influence. He'll be laughing at this right now. He'll be laughing his head off that I've won this award."

The soap also won the award for Serial Drama of the year and star Bill Roache, who plays Ken Barlow, admitted he is thrilled with the victory.

He said: "Winning this award is down to the writers and the producers. How the writers come up with these storylines I don't know? They are brilliant. We have the great stories and we have the ability to portray those stories. We've got a great cast.

"The champagne will be flowing tonight and we will have a good evening."

'I'm A Celebrity... Get Me Out Of Here!' and Ant & Dec were also big winners at star-studded event in London's O2 Arena, which was presented by Dermot O'Leary on Wednesday night (23.01.13).

The presenting duo won the top prize for Entertainment Presenter for the twelfth consecutive year despite not being able to attend.

Previous Page 1 2 3 Next Page