Home / Culture / Heritage

8 countries vow to protect cultural relics at Palace Museum meet

By Wang Kaihao | | Updated: 2016-10-23 10:33

About 50 officials and scholars from eight countries issued a declaration at Beijing's Palace Museum, also known as the Forbidden City, on Oct 20 on enhancing protection of the world's cultural relics.

The Declaration of Supreme Harmony, which is named after the Hall of Supreme Harmony in the Forbidden City, acknowledges that cultural relics today face destruction brought about by war and globalization.

It also pledges the countries' efforts to promote mutual understanding and cultural inclusiveness through more dialogue.

The declaration was drafted following the first two-day ancient civilization forum held at the Palace Museum.

The eight countries which issued the joint declaration are China, Egypt, Greece, India, Iran, Iraq, Italy and Mexico.

Delegates from international organizations also attended the forum.

According to Shan Jixiang, the director of the Palace Museum, the forum is scheduled to be held annually from now on, and will cover more countries.


At Palace Museum, the world mulls heritage protection

Palace Museum removes modern buildings to restore ancient look

Editor's picks
Copyright 1995 - . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.
License for publishing multimedia online 0108263

Registration Number: 130349