Global EditionASIA 中文双语Français
Home / Culture / Film and TV

US film academy invites 819 new members this year to increase diversity

Xinhua | Updated: 2020-07-02 08:49
Share - WeChat

LOS ANGELES -- The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has extended invitations to 819 artists and executives, including 15 Oscar winners, to join this year, the organization said Tuesday.

The 2020 class is 45 percent women, 36 percent underrepresented ethnic/racial communities, and 49 percent international from 68 countries, according to a press release from the Academy.

The star-studded list of invitees includes Yalitza Aparicio (Roma), Florence Pugh (Little Women), Choi Woo-Shik (Parasite), Bernie Taupin (Rocket Man), Cynthia Erivo (Harriet), Awkwafina (The Farewell) and Chinese-American film director Lulu Wang (The Farewell).

A number of Chinese filmmakers, including Wu Jing (The Wandering Earth, Wolf Warrior) and Zhao Tao (Ash Is Purest White, Mountains May Depart), are also among the new invited members.

In 2016, the Academy set specific inclusion goals as part of its A2020 initiative to double the number of women and underrepresented ethnic/racial communities by 2020.

"The Academy is delighted to welcome these distinguished fellow travelers in the motion picture arts and sciences," said Academy president David Rubin, adding "We have always embraced extraordinary talent that reflects the rich variety of our global film community."

Most Popular
Copyright 1995 - . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.
License for publishing multimedia online 0108263

Registration Number: 130349