Home / World / Americas

Formula E Chinese team driver victorious in final

By Bo Leung in Montreal | | Updated: 2017-07-31 23:25

Formula E Chinese team driver victorious in final

Techeetah driver Jean-Eric Vergne celebrates after winning the race in Montreal, Canada. [Photo provided to]

Frenchman Jean-Eric Vergne powered past the chequered flag to win his maiden race in the final round of the Formula E competition and sealed the first victory for Chinese team Techeetah.

Brazilian Lucas di Grassi clinched the championship title after a thrilling climax to the third season of the single-seater electric racing series in downtown Montreal, Canada.

Vergne was crowned race winner after storming past Mahindra driver Felix Rosenqvist, who started in pole position, with eight laps to go.

The Swede was second past the finishing line on the 2.75-kilometre track and Virgin's Jose Maria Lopez of Argentina took the third podium spot.

Vergne never looked back as he eased past the finishing line in his Chinese Techeetah car to bring home his and the team's first Formula E win.

"It is an amazing result for the team in our first year," he said. "We've had a few ups and downs. Obviously, a win was in reach many times this season but for some reason we could not quite get it, I think this weekend everything went quite smoothly, everything was perfect."

The Frenchman went on to praise his team.

"All the people who have worked so hard, it was nice to reward them with something like this. As for myself, to score my maiden win, as well as the first win of the team is only going to make my relationship with the team even stronger. Hopefully it is the first of many of them and I think it puts us in a completely different position for next year."

Meanwhile, for the third consecutive year Renault e.dams clinched the Teams' championship.

Techeetah were 5th in the standings with fellow Chinese team NextEVNio behind in 6th. Faraday Future Dragon Racing, who is also backed by Chinese investment, came in 8th.

Season 4 of the Formula E season will kick off in Hong Kong later this year where Audi and BMW will have teams and in 2019 Mercedes-Benz and Porsche will join the grid.

Contact the writer at

Previous 1 2 3 Next

Most Viewed in 24 Hours
Copyright 1995 - . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.
License for publishing multimedia online 0108263

Registration Number: 130349