Sports / Basketball

Mutumbo, Leslie among finalists for 2015 Hall of Fame

(Xinhua) Updated: 2015-02-17 14:18

NEW YORK - The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announce Saturday six players, five coaches and one referee as finalists from the North American and Women's committees to be considered for election in 2015.

Eight-time NBA All-Star Dikembe Mutumbo and three-time WNBA MVP Lisa Leslie were among the finalists when the Hall of Fame announced it during the NBA All-Star Weekend here.

Other elite players includes seven-time NBA All-Star Jo Jo White, five-time NBA All-Star Tim Hardaway, four-time NBA All-Star Spencer Haywood, and three-time NBA All-Star Kevin Johnson.

Two-time College Coach of the Year John Calipari, two-time NBA Coach of the Year Bill Fitch, four-time Division III national champion coach Bo Ryan, all-time winningest boys high school coach Robert Hughes, all-time winningest high school coach Leta Andrews and 39-year NBA referee Dick Bavatta are also on the list.

"The finalists for the Class of 2015 are a group of very distinguished individuals who have each made a unique impact on the game of basketball," said Jerry Colangelo, Chairman of the Hall of Fame. "To be recognized as a Finalist is a great achievement in and of itself and each of the Finalists recognized today should be very proud."

The Class of 2015 will be announced on April 6 in Indianapolis prior to the NCAA Men's Championship game. A finalist needs 18 of 24 votes from the Honors Committee for election into the Hall of Fame.

Most Popular
What's Hot