Sports / Soccer

Germany wins World Cup on Mario Gotze's brilliance

(Agencies) Updated: 2014-07-14 06:00

Germany wins World Cup on Mario Gotze's brilliance

Germany's Mario Goetze scores a goal during extra time in their 2014 World Cup final against Argentina at the Maracana stadium in Rio de Janeiro July 13, 2014. [Photo/Agencies]
More photos

RIO DE JANEIRO –Germany won the World Cup for the fourth time on Sunday when substitute Mario Goetze volleyed in a brilliant goal seven minutes from the end of extra time to secure a 1-0 victory over Argentina at the Maracana.

Match statistics for Germany's 1-0 win in extra time over Argentina.

          Germany    Argentina

Goals scored 1 0
Total shots 10 10
Shots on target 7 2
Corners 5 3
Offsides 3 2
Fouls committed 20 16
Yellow cards 2 2
Red cards 0 0
Ball possession 60 pct 40 pct 

The game had seemed destined for penalties until fellow substitute Andre Schuerrle escaped down the left and sent in a cross that Goetze controlled on his chest before slamming home.

"We're going to celebrate for at least five weeks now," said Germany goalkeeper Manuel Neuer. "At some point we'll stop celebrating but we'll always keep waking up with a smile.

"We did it and it's unbelievable. In the preparation we had some setbacks. We have to think of the guys not here. They are world champions now too," he added.

Argentina coach Alejandro Sabella, said: "I feel sadness not to have been able to win the tournament but pride in the team that played a great game.

"I congratulate the players. They are a pride to the nation for the efforts they made and the tournament they played."

Germany dominated possession but Argentina were always dangerous on the break and had the best of the few chances.

The clearest of them came after 20 minutes when Tony Kroos's misdirected header sent Gonzalo Higuain clear, only for the striker to drag his shot badly wide with the goal at his mercy.

Lionel Messi struggled to impose himself on the game and, though he shot just wide right at the start of the second half, he looked short of fitness and drifted out of the action.

As both teams tired the game went into extra time and Argentina substitute Rodrigo Palacio had a great chance when through but touched the ball wide.

Another penalty shootout had looked certain until Goetze, who began the tournament as first choice for Germany, had the final word with a memorable goal.

Having won the title in 1954, 1974 and 1990 - as West Germany - this triumph makes them the first European team to lift the trophy in the Americas.

2014 World Cup awards

Golden Ball: Lionel Messi, Argentina

Golden Glove: Manuel Neuer, Germany

Young Player of the Tournament: Paul Pogba, France

Best player:

1. Lionel Messi, Argentina

2. Thomas Mueller, Germany

3. Arjen Robben, Netherlands

Top scorer

1. James Rodriguez, Colombia (6 goals)

2. Thomas Mueller, Germany (5)

3. Neymar, Brazil (4)

Top goalkeeper

Manuel Neuer, Germany

Young player of the tournament

Paul Pogba, France

Fair play award



World Cup winners

1930 - Uruguay

1934 - Italy

1938 - Italy

1950 - Uruguay

1954 - West Germany

1958 - Brazil

1962 - Brazil

1966 - England

1970 - Brazil

1974 - West Germany

1978 - Argentina

1982 - Italy

1986 - Argentina

1990 - West Germany

1994 - Brazil

1998 - France

2002 - Brazil

2006 - Italy

2010 - Spain

2014 - Germany


Previous Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next Page

Most Popular
What's Hot