Home> About Ruzhou
Geography and History
( China Daily )
Updated: 2010-09-14

Ruzhou is situated in midwestern Henan province, with Songshan Mountain to the north and Funiu Mountain to the south, adjacent to the ancient city of Luoyang in the west and facing Huanghuai Plain to the east, with Beiru River flowing across the city from west to east. Ruzhou covers an area of 1,573 square kilometers, and has a population of 940,000 people. Ruzhou governs 15 towns, 5 subdistricts and 453 administrative villages. It was listed as a pilot city for the Reform and Opening-up policy in Henan in 1993, and the key city for urbanization in the province in 2001. In 2004, Ruzhou was given more administrative authority to develop its economy.

Ruzhou has a long history that dates back to the Eastern Zhou Dynasty (770-256 BC), when it was then the capital of the country. The name “Ruzhou” was adopted in the Sui Dynasty (AD 581-618), and it was changed to “Linru” County in 1913. In June, 1988, with the permission of the State Council, Ruzhou officially became a city. For thousands of years, people in Ruzhou have built up a glorious culture with their wisdom and diligence.

Ruzhou enjoys an advantageous geographical location, since it’s within the crossing and radiated area of five cities, namely Zhengzhou, Luoyang, Pingdingshan, Xuchang, and Nanyang. The Jiaozhi railway line passes from north to south, and the Luojie highroad runs east and west. The G207 national highway joins with S325 Houfan highway. The Shanghai-Luoyang Express highway meets with the Taiyuan-Macau Express Highway, which is now under construction. The highways have formed a crisscross transport structure in Ruzhou., 80% of all the administrative villages have built concrete roads. Today a ramified transportation network is taking shape, with the city at the center, highways as framework and secondary roads in towns and counties as veins. All the roads connect to the edge of the city, while arteries and tributaries are properly combined.


 About Ruzhou