Global EditionASIA 中文双语Français
Home / China / Innovation

Chinese scientists win prestigious energy prize

By Yu Yilei in Shanghai | | Updated: 2023-07-10 17:21
Share - WeChat
The committee of Global Energy Prize announced professor Wang Ruzhu from China as the winner of 2023 award on July 6. [Provided to]

Professor Wang Ruzhu, the director of the Institute of Refrigeration and Cryogenics at the School of Mechanical Engineering, was conferred the Global Energy Prize on July 6 for his groundbreaking research in refrigeration, heat pumps and thermal management, according to the university.

Wang, who is also a Chair Professor of Shanghai Jiao Tong University, was awarded under the category of new ways of energy application. The award recognizes outstanding research in sorption cooling, which significantly improves the technology of using low-grade thermal energy to create high-efficiency cooling and for a significant contribution to the development of a dehumidifier-based heat pump, which doubles the energy efficiency of cooling and heating, according to the official website for the prize.

As an expert in refrigeration, heat pumps, and thermal and humidity control, Wang has created innovations related to the efficient conversion, storage, and utilization of low-grade thermal energy, according to the university.

Zhong Lin Wang, an academician of Chinese Academy of sciences and the founding director of the Beijing Institute of Nanoenergy and Nanosystems, is another winner of the award from China. His award is for the invention of triboelectric nanogenerators as a new energy technology for autonomous systems, the Internet of Things, robotics, artificial intelligence, and large-scale blue energy harvesting.

"The research made by the 2023 laureates highly contributes to the development of off-grid energy supply and energy efficiency. The future of the energy transition largely depends on the success of these fields. This once again underlines how thin the line between fundamental science and the real world of energy is," said Rae Kwon Chung, the Head of the International Committee.

The Global Energy Prize is an international award in the energy industry that recognizes outstanding scientific research and scientific-technical developments in the field of energy. It aims to promote greater efficiency and environmental security for energy sources on Earth in the interests of all mankind.

The shortlist for the 2023 prize included 15 scientists from nine countries: China, India, Japan, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Switzerland, and the US.

Professor Wang Ruzhu [Provided to]
Copyright 1995 - . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.
License for publishing multimedia online 0108263

Registration Number: 130349