Global EditionASIA 中文双语Français
Home / Sports / Soccer

FIFA World Cup champions to be awarded France's Legion of Honor in June

Xinhua | Updated: 2019-05-14 09:36
France's Olivier Giroud lifts the trophy as they celebrate after winning the World Cup in Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow, Russia on July 15, 2018. [Photo/VCG]

PARIS -- The 23 players from the 2018 FIFA World Cup champions France will be awarded the Legion of Honor at the Elysee Palace on June 4, French sports newspaper L'Equipe reported on Monday.

As their predecessors did following the 1998 World Cup victory, the 2018 world champions will receive the honor, which was granted by French President Emmanuel Macron during a reception following their return from Moscow on July 16, 2018.

The French team will train in Clairefontaine for the two Euro 2020 qualifiers on June 8 and 11. They will also play a friendly against Bolivia in Nantes on June 2, and be honored following their return.

The presentation of the Legion of Honor was initially scheduled on Nov 13, 2018, before being put off to a later date.

The 23 French title-winning footballers appeared among 345 Chevalier of the Legion of Honor receivers in an official list on Jan 1.

The team's coach Didier Deschamps, already honored as a player in 1998, will be elevated to Officer on the rank of the Legion of Honor.

Most Popular


What's Hot
Copyright 1995 - . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.
License for publishing multimedia online 0108263

Registration Number: 130349