News Art Chinese-Way Heritage Delicacies Travel Movie People View Books Photos


Detective Dee leads Hong Kong Film Awards

Updated: 2011-02-10 13:46
Large Medium Small

The 30th annual Hong Kong Film Awards announced its nomination list on February 8, reports.

Detective Dee leads Hong Kong Film Awards

Poster of the film "Detective Dee and the Mystery of the Phantom Flame". []

Tsui Hark's action thriller "Detective Dee and the Mystery of the Phantom Flame" (Di Renjie Zhi Tong Tian Di Guo) leads the list with 13 nominations, followed by "Reign of Assassins" (Jian Yu) with 11 nominations and "Ip Man 2" (Ye Wen 2) with 10 nominations.

Nick Cheung, the best actor of the 29th Hong Kong Film Awards, announced the nominees' list. "Detective Dee" was nominated the best film and the director, Tsui Hark, was among the best director nominees.

Carina Lau, starring as Empress Wu Zetian in "Detective Dee," was nominated for the best actress award. She will compete with Fiona Sit, the leading actress in the romantic comedy, "Break up Club" (Fen Shou Shuo Ai Ni), Tang Wei (Crossing Hennessy), Miriam Yeung (Love in a Puff) and Josie Ho (Dream Home).

Chow Yun-fat (Confucius), Nick Cheung (The Stool Pigeon), Nicolas Tse (The Stool Pigeon), Tony Leung Ka Fai (Bruce Lee My Brother) and Jacky Cheung (Crossing Hennessy) were among the best actor nominees.

Other films nominated for best film are all action movies, including the "Reign of Assassins" (Jian Yu), "Gallants" (Da Leitai), "The Stool Pigeon" (Xian Ren) and "Ip Man 2" (Ye Wen 2).

The awards ceremony will be held on April 17.

The full nomination list:

Best Film


"Detective Dee and the Mystery of the Phantom Flame"

"Ip Man 2"

"Reign of Assassins"

"The Stool Pigeon"

Best Director

Derek Kwo Tsz-kin and Clement Cheng, "Gallants"

Tsui Hark, "Detective Dee and the Mystery of the Phantom Flame"

Yip Wai-shun, "Ip Man 2"

Su Chao-pin, "Reign Of Assassins"

Dante Lam Chiu-yin, "The Stool Pigeon"

Best Actor

Chow Yun-fat, "Confucius"

Jacky Cheung, "Crossing Hennessy"

Tony Leung Ka-fai, "Bruce Lee, My Brother"

Nick Cheung Ka-fai, "The Stool Pigeon"

Nicholas Tse, "The Stool Pigeon"

Best Actress

Fiona Sit, "Break Up Club"

Tang Wei, "Crossing Hennessy"

Miriam Yeung, "Love in a Puff"

Carina Lau, "Detective Dee and the Mystery of the Phantom Flame"

Josie Ho, "Dream Home"

Best Asian Film

"Under The Hawthorn Tree"

"Seven Days in Heaven"


"After Shock"


Best Screenplay

Lawrence Cheng Tan-shui and Barbara Wong, "Break Up Club"

Ivy Ho, "Crossing Hennessy"

Derek Kwok Tsz-kin, Clement Cheng and Frankie Tam Kwong-yuen, "Gallants"

Pang Ho-cheung and Heiward Mak, "Love In A Puff"

Jack Ng, "The Stool Pigeon"

   Previous Page 1 2 Next Page  

Key Words


Tea    Peking Opera


Cultural Heritage

Jade  Chinese  New Year

Imperial Palace

Chinese Painting