Home / Top News

India, Pakistan set to become members of SCO

By Zhang Yunbi | China Daily | Updated: 2015-07-07 07:38

India and Pakistan are on their way to joining the six-nation, trans-Eurasia Shanghai Cooperation Organisation, according to a senior Chinese diplomat who confirmed that moves to admit the countries will begin soon.

The SCO, which focuses on maintaining regional stability and combating terrorism, currently consists of China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

India and Pakistan are currently SCO observer states, along with Afghanistan, Iran and Mongolia.

India, Pakistan set to become members of SCO

Today's Top News

Editor's picks

Most Viewed

Copyright 1995 - . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.
License for publishing multimedia online 0108263

Registration Number: 130349