About Datong

Datong rewarded as National Garden City

By Zhou Yuanyuan ( chinadaily.com.cn )

update: 2014-01-22

When China's Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development published its National Garden City, County and Town List for 2013, recently, it had 37 cities with the national “Garden City” title, and Datong and Shuozhou, in Shanxi province, were on it.

The list had 37 garden counties and 14 garden towns, including the Shanxi counties of Licheng, Changzi, Lingshi, and Guxian, and the Shanxi town of Jiajiazhuang.

The term "garden city" refers to those with perfect urban arrangement, a beautiful landscape, comfortable, safe habitation, and a good environment.

Shanxi now has 10 of these national garden cities, the others being Taiyuan, Houma, Lucheng, Jincheng, Changzhi, Yangquan, Xiaoyi, and Jiexiu.

Edited by Roger Bradshaw

| About China Daily | Advertise on Site | Contact Us | Job Offer |

Copyright 1995 - 2010 . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.