Chinadaily Homepage
  | Home | Destination Beijing | Sports | Olympics | Photo |  
  2008Olympics > world record

Athletics-Isinbayeva sets pole vault world record again

Updated: 2006-09-20 12:22

LAUSANNE, Switzerland, July 5 - Russian pole vaulter Yelena Isinbayeva broke her own world record once again on Tuesday, clearing 4.93 metres at a Super Grand Prix meeting.

The 23-year-old Olympic champion, who has set herself the target of beating Sergei Bubka's haul of 35 world records, added another centimetre to her previous record jump -- set in Brussels last September.

The former gymnast has now broken the world record on 14 occasions - seven times outdoors and seven indoors.

Earlier in the evening, French sprinter Ronald Pognon snatched a surprise 100 metres victory with Olympic champion Justin Gatlin of the U.S. having to settle for third place.

Posting a personal best of 9.99 seconds, Pognon finished 0.03 ahead of last week's Paris Golden League winner Aziz Zakari of Ghana with Gatlin on 10.03.

"My left leg felt a little tight and I didn't want to push it too much," Gatlin told Reuters, adding that he still intended to compete at Friday's Golden League meeting in Rome.

There was no sign of an upset in the following race, with Gatlin's compatriot and fellow Olympic gold medallist Jeremy Wariner easily holding off the competition to take the 400 metres in 44.96 seconds.

Bahamas sprinter Chandra Sturrup had earlier powered her way to victory in the women's 100 metres, leading from the start to set a year's best time of 10.84.

America's Lauryn Williams finished second, 0.07 behind, while last week's Paris Golden League winner, Christine Arron of France took third place, a tenth of a second behind Sturrup.

"I got off to a flying start, but my run wasn't perfect," Sturrup insisted. "I will be ready for (next month's world championships) in Helsinki."

Fellow Bahaman Tonique Williams-Darling had less to smile about after finishing second in the 400 metres.

The Olympic champion and 2004 Golden League jackpot winner lost out by 0.19 seconds to America's Sanya Richards, who crossed the line in 49.95.