Costa, Ford and Burch win top honors at CFDA Awards

Updated: 2008-06-04 09:53

Kim Cattrall arrives at the 2008 CFDA Fashion awards presented by the Council of Fashion Designers of America in New York on Monday, June 2, 2008.[Agencies]

Fransisco Costa of Calvin Klein took home the Womenswear Designer of the Year award on Monday night at the Council of Fashion Designers of America awards. It marks the second time the designer has won the honor, the top award in the U.S. fashion industry, winning for the first time in 2006.

Tom Ford received the top award for menswear, while Tory Burch won for accessory design.

"To be recognized is surreal, especially alongside Marc Jacobs and Michael Kors," said Burch in her acceptance speech. Jacobs and Kors were also nominated.

The Swarovski-sponsored awards for the three top newcomers in the same categories included Kate and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte in womenswear, Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders in menswear and Philip Crangi for accessory design.

   1 2 3 4   

Related Stories  
Top Lifestyle News  
Today's Top News  
Most Commented/Read Stories in 48 Hours