UNESCO names Rio as World Capital of Architecture for 2020

Xinhua | Updated: 2019-01-19 13:42
Share - WeChat
A panoramic view of the Sugarloaf Mountain and the Corcovado Mountain that overlook the Guanabara Bay in Rio de Janeiro. [Photo provided to China Daily]

RIO DE JANEIRO, Jan 18 — The United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) on Friday announced that the Brazilian city of Rio de Janeiro will be the World Capital of Architecture for 2020.

Having defeated Paris and Melbourne, Rio will be the first city to receive the title under a program launched together by UNESCO and the International Union of Architects (UIA) in November 2018. The city will host the World Congress of UIA, an event that occurs every three years, in July 2020.

"The World Capital of Architecture initiative underscores the common commitment of UNESCO and the UIA to preserve architectural heritage in the urban context," said UNESCO's Assistant Director-General for Culture Ernesto Ottone R.

"Through the range and quality of its activities, the World Capital of Architecture in Rio de Janeiro will demonstrate the crucial role of architecture and culture in sustainable urban development," Ottone R said.

1 2 3 Next   >>|
Copyright 1995 - . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.
License for publishing multimedia online 0108263

Registration Number: 130349