Home  >   Education

Education overview of Wuxi New District

Updated: 2018-06-05

Wuxi New District (WND) is located in the southeastern part of Wuxi city, Jiangsu province. In 1992, it gained State-level endorsement to develop upon Wuxi High-Tech Park and Wuxi Singapore Industrial Park in order to create one of the major high-tech industrial parks in China featuring precision machinery, electronics, pharmaceuticals and fine chemicals. The district has an area of 220 square kilometers and a population of around 300,000.

By resolutely following the decisions and plans made by the central government on developing high-tech industries, WND takes an active part in advancing productivity and seizing every opportunity to maintain momentum from the past decade’s economic growth. After years of effort, it has been awarded the title of "Top 50 Development Zones in China with Best Investment Environment."

To keep pace with the economic reform and development of WND, the district has attached equal importance to the upgrading of the local educational system. Currently, an overall educational system has been built up, including the elementary sector ranging from kindergarten, elementary school to middle school and the higher education sector such as vocational schools and institutes for adults. Given that the education internationalization continues to speed up in WND, the local educational system is expected to make greater contributions to economic growth. Meanwhile, excellent teaching resources have been gathered in the district, aiming to achieve an even better balance in terms of resources distribution.

A new goal for the development of the educational system of WND has been set for the 11th Five-Year Plan Period (2006-2010), which will elevate the district as a role model of modern education featuring top-ranking resources to provide stronger intellectual support to the innovative upgrading of WND.

The former Wuxi New District, now known as Wuxi Xinwu district or Wuxi National Hi-tech district, was founded in 1992 and underwent administrative changes in 1995, 2002 and 2005.

>> Read More