APEC senior official's meeting ends in Hanoi

Updated: 2006-11-13 14:39

HANOI -- Senior officials from 21 member economies of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) concluded their two-day meeting here Monday afternoon, paving way for the coming ministerial meeting and economic leaders' meeting slated for later this week.

During the meeting, the officials decided to continue to firmly support the Doha round of WTO negotiations and save the negotiations from the deadlock, endorsed the Hanoi Action Plan which provides the details required to implement last year's Busan roadmap to achieve the APEC Bogor goals, and endorsed an APEC reform package, Le Cong Phung, deputy Vietnamese foreign minister and chair of the Concluding Senior Officials Meeting, told a press conference after the meeting.

Prior to the current concluding meeting, the senior officials held three meetings on the implementation of the programs worked out at the APEC leaders' meeting in Busan, South Korea, in November 2005, and preparations for the current APEC meetings.

APEC currently has 21 members: Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, China's Hong Kong, Chinese Taipei, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, the United States and Vietnam. The chairmanship rotates among its members, with Vietnam holding the chair this year.

Top China News  
Today's Top News  
Most Commented/Read Stories in 48 Hours