Hu to make proposals on APEC meeting

Updated: 2006-11-08 11:21

Chinese President Hu Jintao will make proposals on deepening cooperation of the Asia-Pacific region at the 14th APEC (Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation) Economic Leaders' Informal Meeting to be held in Hanoi, Vietnam from November 17 to 19.

Chinese Assistant Foreign Minister Cui Tiankai made the remark Tuesday at a news briefing on Hu's coming state visits to Vietnam, Laos, India and Pakistan from November 15 to 26 during which Hu will also attend the APEC meeting from November 17 to 19.

Cui said Hu will layout China's policies on deepening regional cooperation and the key points and prospects of Asia Pacific economic cooperation, and make proposals on further promoting economic and technological cooperation within APEC.

Hu will also brief foreign leaders on China's scientific development and tell them that China's development will bring opportunities to regional and world development, said Cui.

According to Cui, Hu will hold side bar meetings with a number of leaders attending the meeting, including Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe and U.S. President George W. Bush.

Cui said China hopes the APEC meeting will help support the healthy development of multilateral trade systems and promote the implementation of the "Bogor goals" of free and open trade and investment in Asia-Pacific by 2010 for industrialized economies and 2020 for developing economies.

China hopes the APEC meeting will reach agreements on carrying out cooperation on the challenge of high oil prices, infectious diseases and natural disasters in a bid to promote sustainable development and improve the livelihood of the people, said Cui.

He also said China hopes the meeting will help promote the reform process of APEC to safeguard the status and influence of the economic bloc, adding China will make joint efforts with the other sides to realize the goals.

According to Cui, the 14th APEC Economic Leaders' Informal meeting will focus on supporting the Doha Round of negotiations at the World Trade Organization, realizing the Bogor goals, regional trade arrangements, economic and trade cooperation, anti-terrorism, energy, health, anti-corruption and the reform of the APEC.

Since its inception in 1989, APEC has worked to reduce tariffs and other trade barriers across the Asia-Pacific region and to create efficient domestic economies and dramatically increasing exports.

APEC has 21 member economies, including China, the United States, Japan, Vietnam, Singapore and Australia, which account for more than a third of the world's population, over 50 percent of world's GDP and in excess of 41 percent of world trade.

Top China News  
Today's Top News  
Most Commented/Read Stories in 48 Hours