Global EditionASIA 中文双语Français
Home / Culture / Film and TV

Swedish film Triangle of Sadness wins Palme d'Or at 75th Cannes

Xinhua | Updated: 2022-05-30 08:54
Share - WeChat
Swedish director Ruben Ostlund's film Triangle of Sadness won the Palme d'Or at the 75th Cannes Film Festival on May 28. [Photo/Mtime]

PARIS -- Swedish director Ruben Ostlund's film Triangle of Sadness won the Palme d'Or, top prize of the 75th Cannes Film Festival on Saturday.

Triangle of Sadness is a film where a couple, invited for a luxury cruise with super-rich passengers, found themselves marooned on a desert island after a storm. Hierarchy is suddenly flipped upside down, as the housekeeper from the yacht is the only one who knows how to fish.

The Jury of the festival distributed the Grand Prix to two films, Close directed by Lukas Dhont, and Stars at Noon directed by Claire Denis.

The Jury Prize was also jointly awarded to EO directed by Jerzy Skolimowski, and Le Otto Montagne, directed by Charlotte Vandermeersch and Felix Van Groeningen.

Best Director was awarded to Park Chan-wook for Decision to Leave, while the Best Screenplay was given to Tarik Saleh for Boy From Heaven.

Zar Amir Ebrahimi from the film Holy Spider won the Award for Best Actress, and Song Kang-ho from the South Korean film Broker won the Award for Best Actor.

The festival's nine-member jury is headed by French actor Vincent Lindon, winner of the Best Actor Award at the 68th Cannes Film Festival in 2015.

The French comedy Coupez! (Final Cut), directed by Michel Hazanavicius, was chosen this year as the opening film.

This year, 21 films have been selected to compete for the Palme d'Or.

Most Popular
Copyright 1995 - . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.
License for publishing multimedia online 0108263

Registration Number: 130349