Global EditionASIA 中文双语Français
Home / Business / Macro

Govt to establish three new pilot FTZs

By Zhong Nan | | Updated: 2020-09-21 09:44
Share - WeChat
Cargo is loaded onto ships at Qingdao port in Shandong province in July. [Photo by ZHANG JINGANG/FOR CHINA DAILY]

China released plans for three new pilot free trade zones in Beijing, Hunan and Anhui on Monday to further facilitate its high-level opening-up and boost high-quality growth through deeper reforms, according to the State Council.

Moreover, the government has also decided to expand China (Zhejiang) Pilot Free Trade Zone.

According to the plan, Beijing FTZ will cover an area of 119.68 square kilometers, including three areas for science and technology innovation, international business services and high-end industries.

The government will also support the People's Bank of China, or the central bank, to set up a fintech center within the capital city, building pilot zones for digital currencies and digital finance systems with blockchain technology.

The pilot free trade zone in Hunan and Anhui will cover areas of 119.76 square kilometers, 119.86 square kilometers, respectively, said the government document.

Hunan FTZ aims to boost outbound direct investment and international cooperation, in particular with African nations and economies related to the Belt and Road Initiative.

Located in the Yangtze River Delta region, Anhui FTZ is set to boost the region's development and high-end manufacturing, integrated circuit, artificial intelligence and cross-border e-commerce business.

Copyright 1995 - . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.
License for publishing multimedia online 0108263

Registration Number: 130349