PARALYMPICS / Paralympic Sports


Updated: 2008-08-29 16:03



A match consists of four ends in the individuals and pairs competitions and of six ends in the team division. Each end continues until both teams have played all of their balls.

The match is started by throwing the white target ball or the "jack" into the playing area. The same player also rolls the first Boccia ball as close as possible to the jack. The athletes use their hands, feet or an assistive device where required, to propel the balls. Thereafter the opposing team throws until they get a ball closer to the jack or until they have thrown all of their team's balls. Play then returns to the first team. The end continues in this manner until both teams have thrown all of their balls.

In team competition, a playing rotation is maintained throughout the game. Scoring is done at the conclusion of an end. One point is awarded for each ball that is closest to the jack and "inside" any opponent's ball. If two balls of the same colour are closer to the jack than any of the balls of the opposing side, the first will receive two points. If two or more balls of different colours are at the same distance from the jack and there is no other ball closer to it, then each side receives one point per ball.

After the completion of all ends, the individual, pair or team with the highest total score is declared winner. If the scores of both teams are equal, a tiebreak consisting of one additional end is played.

Both male and female competitors are included in each of seven divisions of play. The divisions are:

(a) Individual BC1

(b) Individual BC2

(c) Individual BC3

(d) Individual BC4

(e) Pairs for players classified as BC3

(f) Pairs for players classified as BC4

(g) Team for players classified as BC1 and BC2

(Credit: IPC. Click here for further information.)

Comments of the article(total ) Print This Article E-mail