Home/ News Center/ Media Reports

Backgrounder: Latest winners of Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Source: Xinhua

Updated: 2015-10-06

STOCKHOLM, Oct. 5 (Xinhua) -- Three scientists shared the 2015 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine, the committee announced Monday. The following is a list of winners of the Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine since 2005:

2015: Tu Youyou (China), William Campbell (Ireland), and Satoshi Omura (Japan);

2014: John O'Keefe (U.S.), May-Britt Moser (Norway), Edvard Moser (Norway);

2013: James E. Rothman (U.S.), Randy W. Schekman (U.S.), Thomas C. Sudhof (Germany);

2012: John B. Gurdon (Britain), Shinya Yamanaka (Japan);

2011: Bruce A. Beutler (U.S.), Jules A. Hoffmann (Luxembourg and France), Ralph M. Steinman (Canada and U.S.);

2010: Robert G. Edwards (Britain);

2009: Elizabeth H. Blackburn (U.S. and Australia), Carol W. Greider (U.S.), Jack W. Szostak (U.S.);

2008: Harald zur Haussen (Germany), Francoise Barre-Sinoussi (France), Luc Montagnier (France);

2007: Mario Capecchi (U.S.), Oliver Smithies (U.S.), Martin Evans (Britain);

2006: Andrew Z. Fire (U.S.), Craig C. Mello (U.S.);

2005: Barry J. Marshall (Australia), J. Robin Warren (Australia).


World Family Summit

The World Family Organization was founded in Europe in 1947 and headquartered in Paris.

Ebola outbreak in West Africa

Ebola has claimed over 1,000 lives in west African countries.

TCM-keeping healthy in Chinese way

The initiatives aim mainly to raise TCM awareness.

Link: China's Central Government / World Health Organization / United Nations Population Fund / UNICEF in China

Copyright 2014 National Health and Family Planning Commission of the PRC All rights reserved