Home>News Center>World

Slovakia ties currency to euro
Updated: 2005-11-26 09:37

Slovakia took a major step toward joining the euro zone Friday by linking its currency, the koruna, to the euro in the European Exchange Rate Mechanism.

The decision was announced by the European Union and is in line with Slovakia's plan to adopt the euro on Jan. 1, 2009. Slovakia joined the EU in May 2004 along with nine other new members.

Under the mechanism, the koruna will be pegged to the euro within a 15 percent margin above or below a central rate of 38.4550 koruna to the euro.

Six other new EU members — Latvia, Malta, Cyprus, Slovenia, Estonia and Lithuania — have already joined the system. Countries must be in the system for at least two years before they can join the euro zone.

Of the nine new EU members, Poland, Hungary and the Czech Republic have yet to join the system.

In order to join, nations must meet targets of low inflation, low budget deficits and low national debt, as well as limiting currency fluctuations against the euro.

EU estimates released this month showed Slovakia within the inflation and debt targets, but its deficit of 4.1 percent of gross domestic product was above the 3-percent threshold set for euro-zone membership.

The EU said "strict monitoring of budget execution will be required, aimed at a timely detection and correction of slippages." EU finance ministers approved Slovakia's entry into the Exchange Rate Mechanism at the request of Slovak authorities.

The decision was made Friday evening and not announced until after the close of markets in Europe and North America.

The Slovak government adopted a plan in July to prepare for the switch to the euro. The document said the process would be one of the most important logistical operations in the history of the country, which gained its independence in the 1993 split of Czechoslovakia into separate states.

Twelve EU countries currently use the euro as their shared currency. There are 25 countries in the EU.

Estonia, Lithuania and Slovenia are the frontrunners to adopt the euro, hoping to join the currency bloc in 2007. Cyprus, Latvia and Malta aim to join in 2008. The Czech Republic and Hungary are planning for 2010, while Poland has not set a target date.

Election cast shadow on Canada aboriginal goals
Protest against alleged Bush bombing plan
Ukraine marks 'orange revolution' anniversary
  Today's Top News     Top World News

Dam to withstand any attack, designer says



Harbin ready to resume water supply



Central bank pushes foreign exchange reform



Survey blasts Japan's constitution revision



Students sit civil service exam for stable jobs



Ministry denies human infection cover-up


  Cancer kills Saddam witness, but key testimony will live on
  60 feared dead as floods wash away buses
  US nears 1,000th execution since 1977
  Austrian politician wants wider CIA probe
  EU strikes landmark sugar reform deal
  Peace still elusive as Russia's Chechnya votes
  Go to Another Section  
  Story Tools  
  Related Stories  
Slovakia and six others to join NATO April 2
  News Talk  
  Are the Republicans exploiting the memory of 9/11?  
Manufacturers, Exporters, Wholesalers - Global trade starts here.