Hu leaves Beijing to visit 8 African nations

Updated: 2007-01-30 09:44

Chinese President Hu Jintao left Beijing Tuesday morning to pay a state visit to eight African nations from January 30 to February 10.

The eight nations are Cameroon, Liberia, Sudan, Zambia, Namibia, South Africa, Mozambique and Seychelles.

During his visit, President Hu is expected to meet leaders of the eight nations, and will exchange views with them on the relationship and the issues of common concern, according to Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman Liu Jianchao.

"This tour will be China's another major diplomatic move toward the African nations since the Beijing Summit was held last November," Liu told a regular press conference prior to Hu's visit.

He said Hu's visit aims at deepening the traditional friendship and realizing the agreements reached during the Beijing Summit, including eight commitments Hu had made to benefit the African countries.

Top China News  
Today's Top News  
Most Commented/Read Stories in 48 Hours