Home > News

Five villages make national traditional village list

( chinadaily.com.cn )

Updated: 2013-09-04

  Print Mail Large Medium  Small 0

Five villages in Suzhou of Jiangsu province have been listed as national traditional villages, according to a list released by the Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development, Ministry of Culture and Ministry of Finance.

The five villages are Sanshan village, Yanwan village, Wengxiang village, Zhendong village and Lishi village of Changshu.

Luxianggu village and Mingyuewan village of Suzhou were on the list last year.

A total of 915 such villages in the country are on the list.

Yangwan village has been well-preserved since the Ming (1368-1644) and Qing (1644-1911) dynasties. Wengxiang village has many ancient architectures. Sanshan village is located on Taihu Lake and has 33 high-level buildings from the Ming and Qing dynasties.