left corner left corner
China Daily Website

Asian swim tournament for Guangzhou in 1988


The third Asian Swimming Championships will be held between late April and early May, 1988 in Guangzhou, according to a spokesman of the Asian Amateur Swimming Federation.

AASF, founded in 1978 in Bangladesh, arranges continental swimming, diving and water polo tournaments on a yearly basis, especially for the Asian Games, Asian Swimming Championships and the Asian age-group swimming tournaments.

Times registered in regional competitions will also be regarded as Asian records. But these competitions, to be supervised by AASF, must be organized by AASF member countries and regions which now include Bahrain, Bangladesh, Brunei, Burma, China, the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Japan, Kuwait, Malaysia, Oman, Nepal, the Maldives, Pakistan, the Philippines, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Thailand, the United Arab Emirates, India, Syria, Jordan and Lebanon.

Chinese Taibei will also be considered an AASF member on the ground that it uses the anthem, emblem and flag in line with the requirement of the International Olympic Committee and the Olympic Council of Asia.

    Hot Topics