Communist Party Brings Unity of the Ethnic Minorities

Updated: 2011-03-17 16:53

Communist Party Brings Unity of the Ethnic Minorities

China is a unitary multiethnic nation made up of 56 different peoples. Because the Han account for 91.6% of the population, the other 55 are customarily referred to as "ethnic minorities". According to the fifth national census in 2000, 18 minority peoples have populations of over one million, namely the Zhuang, Manchu, Hui, Miao, Uygur, Yi, Tujia, Mongol, Tibetan, Bouyei, Dong, Yao, Korean, Bai, Hani, Li, Kazak, and Dai; of these, the Zhuang has the biggest population, numbering 16.179 million. There are 17 groups with a population of between 100,000 and one million, namely the She, Lisu, Gelao, Lahu, Dongxiang, Va, Sui, Naxi, Qiang, Tu, Xibe, Mulam, Kirgiz, Daur, Jingpo, Salar, and Maonan. The other 20 minority populations number between 10,000 and 100,000, namely, the Blang, Tajik, Primi, Achang, Nu, Ewenki, Gin, Jino, De'ang, Uzbek, Russian, Yugur, Bonan, Monba, Oroqen, Derung, Tatar, Hezhen, Gaoshan (excluding the Gaoshan population in Taiwan), and Lhoba. The Lhoba community has the smallest population, only about 3,000.


CPC Heroes

Zhu De

Zhu De, born in Yilong County of Sichuan Province in 1886 and passed away in 1976, is a great Marxist, proletarian revolutionary, statesman and military strategist.

Chen Yi

A native of Le Zhi, in Southwest China's Sichuan Province, and awarded by the People's Republic of China the military rank of marshal; Served as the country's Vice Premier (1954-1972) and Foreign Minister (1958-1972)

Copyright 1995 - 2009 . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.