Updated: 2008-04-29 11:08

Located in the west of Henan Province and to the southern bank of the middle reaches of Huanghe River (Yellow River), a national historical and cultural famous city well-known at home and abroad, known as the ancient capital of nine dynasties, and also one of the seven ancient capitals in China. There are over one city, eight counties and six districts under its jurisdiction and covers an area 15208.6 square kilometers with a population of 5.706 million. Luoyang is a new industrial base in China, famous for its strong heavy industrial strength and congregation of large factories. There are rich tourism resources characterized by antiquity, Buddhism and variety including the historical sites of Longmen Grottoes, Baima Temple, Guanlin Monastery, and Liuxiu Mausoleum. The Luoyang peony is known to all, far and near. The Peony Fair is held inApril every year, making Luoyang known as the peony city. Famous native products include Mengjin pears, Dukang wine, Shanqi, edible fungi, pilose antlers, mushrooms, and yangtao. Handiwork articles include Luoyang palace lanterns, replicate tri-colored glazed pottery of the Tang Dynasty and bronze ware, etc.

Longmen Grotto

Luoyang peony is world renowned for its rare beauty, regarded as the "finest flower under heaven." It is not only the flower of Luoyang City, but also the national flower of China. The magnificent Peony Festival held in Luoyang every April attracts countless domestic and international visitors. It has become a stage of displaying Luoyang's(even Henan's) traditional culture and peony culture as well as a window to help promote economic development and opening up to the outside world.

Luoyang has very typical weather for central China, characterized by distinct seasons. Autumn is the most comfortable time here, with sunny days and modest temperatures and spring is particularly pleasant when the famous Peonies begin to blossom in April and May.

According to textual research, since China's first dynasty-the Xia Dynasty set up its capital here, Luoyang was made the capital city at different times by 13 dynasties in China's history, including the Xia, Shang, Eastern Zhou, Eastern Han, Cao Wei, Western Jin, Northern Wei, Sui and Tang, over a period of 1,529 years. Of China's seven ancient capital cities, Kaifeng is the earliest city in China, with the longest history as a capital city, and the largest number of dynasties setting up their capital here. It is the east starting point of the world-renowned Silk Road. Since the period of the East Han Dynasty, it gradually became an international Metropolis. History has left behind rich historic heritage in Luoyang, including ruined sites of ancient capital cities, temples, grottoes, tombs and inscribed stone tablets. Of these historic relics, the state-grade protected key historic relics unit-the ruined sites of the 5 ancient capitals of the Xia, Shang, Zhou, Han-Wei and Sui-Tang Dynasties are invaluable rare treasures of the whole world.

Top China News  
Today's Top News  
Most Commented/Read Stories in 48 Hours